Chainge sweeps SGA executive board: President re-elect ready to ‘get the ball rolling’

Published by adviser, Author: Chris Gordon - Assistant News Editor, Date: April 12, 2016

The Chainge ticket swept the Slippery Rock Student Government Association’s executive board and won a majority of senate seats in this year’s election.

SGA President Logan Steigerwalt, who learned of his reelection at Tuesday’s announcement, said the competition offered by the Revive the Pride ticket kept him on his heels.

“With the other ticket running, this race was nerve-wracking,” he said. “Overall, this year was better than last year, though.”

Last year, Steigerwalt ran unopposed as part of the SRUnited ticket.

The remainder of the executive board will consist of Abby Fugh as vice president of student and academic affairs, Brian Welsh as vice president of finance, Sarah Arpino as vice president of internal affairs and Sammy Hovis as vice president of campus outreach.

“I’m happy that our entire executive board was elected,” Steigerwalt said. “We’re already a pretty cohesive group and we’ll be able to get the ball rolling next year.”

Although Revive the Pride failed to capture any executive positions, seven of their 10 senate candidates were elected.

Jaclynn Choma, Sophia Sarver, Matt Scott and Emily Shorr will serve as commuter senators, while Claudia Hartmann will represent the Rock Apartments, Haylee Zinn will represent Building B and Morgan Montgomery will represent Rhoads Hall.

Despite the results overall, Sarver said she is happy to have been elected to her third term on SGA.

“We’ll be able to accomplish a lot so long as the two tickets are willing to work with each other,” she said. “Logan and I were actually first elected together on the same ticket, so we’ve been working together for a long time.”

Other building senators elected Tuesday consist of write-in candidate Meredith Canfield for Building A, Dallas Kline for Watson Hall and Kevin Kite for Building E.

Contests in Building D and North Hall resulted in ties and there were no candidates for Building F.

The remaining commuter senators will be Nathaniel Henkle, Erin O’Connor, Scott Vogelgesang, Logan Girton, Tori Hill, Matt Hefflefinger, Odell Richardson, Elizabeth Hernandez, Katerina Fissore, John Vineyard and Alexandra Foster.

Dewayne Anderson will serve as a graduate senator.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here