Honors & Awards

Below is a list of awards won by The Rocket and WSRU-TV: 

2019-2020 Rock Media Awards

Associated Collegiate Press Best of Show

3rd Best Overall Paper LGBTQ+ Edition Staff

 Columbia Scholastic Press Association

3rd In-Depth News/Feature The Perfect Storm Hannah Shumsky
3rd Single Sot News Photo Healing in the Face of Hate Paris Malone
CM Infographic Voter Turnout Lower/Avg Hannah Shumsky
CM Typography Spread The Best of SR Staff
2nd Typography Headline 21 Days of Behre Megan Bush
3rd Typography Headline The Future of Social Justice Adam Zook
CM Newsmagazine Cover Sex & Love Edition Lauren Ault
CM Page One Design Providing Security Davies, Shumsky, Zook
CM News Page Design Future of Social Justice Shumsky, Zook
CM Sports Page Design A Hard Hitting Topic Oscar Matous
CM Double Truck Grady Confident in Team Cukovich, Howe, Matous
3rd DM: Personality Profile Boombox Guy Eric Davies
3rd DM: Single Feature Photo Boombox Guy Eric Davies
CM DM: Single Sports Photo Rock Women…7-6 OT Victory Paris Malone
2nd DM: Video PSA Five College Essentials Eric Davies

National Broadcasting Society

Student finalists announced Jan. 28—Awards announced March 14

Finalist Kilgen-Bruner Organ Feature Dr. Brittany Fleming

 Pennsylvania News Association Keystone Press Awards

Announcement made in April 

Society for Collegiate Journalists

Announcement made in April 15

 2019/2020 SCJ Induction 

Lesa Bresenelli, Karl Ludwig, Brendan Howe, Allison Downs, Nina Cipriani, Hannah Slope, Aaron Marrie, Haley Potter, Zachary Bonnette, Samantha Shiel, Keegan Beard

2018-2019 Rock Media Awards

National Broadcasting Society: AERho

1st Chapter of the Year WSRU-TV
1st Model Chapter WSRU-TV
1st AERho Member of the Year Haley Potter
1st Video Program Opener: Around the Rock Tom Fabian
1st Video Editing: Pittsburgh Penguins Highlight Reel Logan Snyder
1st Professional Video: Sensory-Friendly Productions Dr. Brittany Fleming
1st On-The-Spot Instagram Promo: 2019 Convention Nick Coffman

Angela Jacoway

Ian Swartz

2nd On-The-Spot Feature Package: Ride-Share Services Tom Fabian

Ron McNerney

Haley Potter

3rd On-The-Spot Instagram Promo: Join NBS Sami Amato

Joseph Demeter

Aaron Marrie

Hannah Shumsky


2018/19 NBS Induction: Hannah Shumsky, Joe Demeter, Aaron Marrie, Sami Amato

Slippery Rock University Rising Star Ceremony

1st Outstanding Service to Students and Faculty Dr. Brittany Fleming


2018/19 Rising Star Induction: Hannah Shumsky

Pennsylvania News Association Keystone Awards

1st Layout & Design: SRU Basketball 11-9-18 Steve Cukovich

Oscar Matous

1st Sports Photo: SRU vs ESU Head to Head Paris Malone
2nd Cartoon/Graphic Illustration Series Jack Hopey
Hannah Shumsky
HM Editorial Series The Rocket Staff

Society for Collegiate Journalists

1st Editorial Page Design: 9-14-18 Eric Davies
1st Sports Page Design: Grady Confident in Team Steve Cukovich
1st News Page Design: Voters/Candidates Adam Zook
1st Feature Page Design: Midterms Megan Bush
2nd Photo Essay: Take Back the Night Jack Hopey
2nd Photo Slideshow: Simple Plan Paris Malone
2nd Editorial: Thank you, next Adam Zook
2nd Front Page Design: 11-9-18 Lauren Ault
3rd Newspaper Overall Excellence The Rocket
3rd Feature Page: Parks and Education Megan Bush
3rd Breaking News: Area Teacher… Sexual Assault Adam Zook
3rd Editorial Page: 11-9-18 Eric Davies

Megan Bush

3rd Sports Page: Title Fight Eric Davies

Steve Cukovich

 2018/19 SCJ Induction:

Eric Davies, Adam Zook, Hannah Shumsky, Tom Fabian, Jack Hopey, Paris Malone, Heather Donat, Sarah Allen, Megan Bush, Hope Hoehler, Oscar Matous, Steve Cukovich, Lauren Ault

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

1st News Page Design: 5-4-18 Adam Zook
1st Editorial Page Design: 10-17-17 Cody Nespor
1st Single Subject Page Design: The Race Issue Cody Nespor

Paris Malone

2nd News Page Design: Orientation Special Adam Zook
2nd Video PSA: Five College Essentials Eric Davies
3rd Alternative Story Presentation: Starting Five Justin Kraus

Steve Cukovich

3rd Sports News: Success with Less Steve Cukovich
HM Double Truck Page Design: Coaching Tree Cody Nespor

Steve Cukovich

3rd Personality Profile: Boombox Guy Eric Davies
3rd Single Feature Photo: Boombox Guy Eric Davies
CM Single Sports: Rock Women Win Third Straight Paris Malone

American Scholastic Press Association

2nd Overall Newspaper Excellence The Rocket

College Media Association Pinnacle Awards

HM Breaking News Photo: Accident on Keister Road Paris Malone

2017-2018 Rock Media Awards

The Society of Collegiate Journalists

  • 1st place: Best Overall Companion Newspaper Site
  • 1st place: Best Overall News Page
  • 2nd place: Best Overall Sports Page
  • 3rd place: Best Editorial
    • “The Search Continues”
  • 3rd place: Best Overall News Page
  • Honorable Mention: Best Editorial
    • “The Rocket Responds to the KKK”
  • Photo Slideshow
    • First place, Paris Malone, “Pre-Kwanza Celebration”
  • Multi-story News Series
    • 2nd place, Daniel DiFabio, “Presidential Search Coverage Series”
  • Sports Features
    • 3rd place: Justin Kraus, “Football Alum Remembered for Personality”
Associated Collegiate Press

6th place: Best Newspaper Category

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

  • Best in Video Documentary Category:
    • First Place: Eric Davies, “Students March in Support of Faculty Union”
  • Best in Breaking News Category:
    • Third Place: Adam Zook, “PASSHE Chancellor Frank Brogan Steps Down,”
    • Honorable Mention Victoria Davis and Daniel DiFabio, “Two SRU Students Arrested in National”
  • Best in News Writing Category:
    • Third Place: Adam Zook, “New Title IX Restrictions to Have Little Impact on SRU students”
  • Best in Sports Features Category:
    • Third Place: Jordyn Bennett “Former All-American Headed to Canada for a Second Chance

Golden Quill Awards

  • Student Opinion, Text/Print:
    • Finalist: Victoria Davis, “Students have been forgotten, ignored in the search for SRU’s president”

Heather Donat


Last updated: January 23, 2020