SGA reinstates removed representatives to senate

Published by adviser, Author: Kevin Squires - Assistant News Editor, Date: March 26, 2014

The Slippery Rock University Student Government Association (SGA) voted to reinstate Cody Moody as a commuter senator and Abigail Toth as the Building A senator during the senate meeting Monday, following the presidential debate. The two students were removed from their positions for failure to complete responsibilities with their position. Senators are required to complete journal entries each week documenting office hours and any tasks they complete for SGA. Both senators did not complete their journals the week before spring break and had forgotten on another occasion, resulting in removal from senate until reinstated. 

Flash Mob Club, the Association for Operations Management (APICS), India Club, and SRU Pom Dancing were approved as recognized organizations.

SGA also approved the recommendations of the scholarship committee based on their review of the spring scholarship applicants.

Michael Farah was elected as a commuter senator. “Secretively, my resume sucks and I need some good organization on there,” Farah joked about running for the position. He went on to say that “about a month ago [SGA] passed a measure that took away voting rights for APSCUF I do believe. I don’t really know what quite went on but I’m against taking voting rights from anyone because I think everyone should have a say.”

Megan Burr was named the “liter” of the week for conquering her fear of flying over spring break while traveling on a leadership trip with the university. Cody Moody was awarded Pepe Le Plank on the condition that he returns the plank to office Wednesday. Alex Merida has been in possession of the plank for weeks, claiming he keeps forgetting to return it.

The minutes from the senate meeting on March 10 and Board of Cooperative Activities actions from March 13 were also approved.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here