SRSGA announces election winners


The Slippery Rock Student Government Association (SRSGA) announced the 38 winners to executive board and Senate positions Friday, its second-largest elected body.

Last fall, 39 students were elected to Senate positions, but many rescinded after being selected.

Mia Graziani, the current vice president of internal affairs, will take over for President Joey Sciuto.

Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion Alexis Gish won her reelection. Her opponent, Alexis Jones was elected as a College of Health, Engineering and Science senator.

Parliamentarian Grant Warmbein won a three-way race for vice president of academic and student affairs against Sens. Caleb Covey and Gabriel Stiles. Both were re-elected as senators, with Covey selected as an at-large senator and Stiles a College of Education senator.

Overall, 24 sitting members were either reelected or won executive board seats.

Two Candidates for the College of Health, Engineering and Science senator positions will possibly have a runoff election at a later day due to a tie. After that special election, one of the candidates, either Leah Corbett or Madison Moore, will take the position and the other will be moved to an at-large senate seat.

After that is resolved, the Senate will have 11 vacant positions, including four freshman seats. The other open seats are one commuter and graduate, two residence halls, and three at-large. Elections for those vacancies will be held early fall.

The student body also elected Richard Torpey as the veteran senator. The position was vacant all this year.

The SRSGA has two more formal meetings before the end of the school year. Their next formal meeting will be held Monday, April 12 at 5 p.m. via Zoom.

2021-2022 SRSGA Election Results

Executive Board

Mia Graziani – President

Grant Warmbein – Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs

Dean Chasser – Vice President of Finance

Elizabeth Hood – Vice President of Internal Affairs

Aiden Donnelly – Vice President of Campus Outreach

Alexis Gish – Vice President of Diversity and Inclusion

College of Business Senators

Braydon Brinker

Bailie Fleming

Ramses Minaya

Sydney Rezzetano

College of Education Senators

Samantha Baird

Rebekah Froehlich

Alexandra Kulikowski

Gabriel Stiles

College of Health, Engineering and Science Senators

Leah Corbett*

Alexis Jones

Madison Moore*

Emily Sarver

Samantha Shaffer

College of Liberal Arts Senators

Amanda Brock

Hannah D’Egidio

Makenzie Shiller

Ezeck Warren

Commuter Senator

Aidan Sames

Transfer Senator

Madeline Smith

Veteran Senator

Richard Torpey

International Senator

Laura Zozimus

Graduate Senators

Christopher Dang

Laken Draksler

Julie Jurich

At-Large Senators

Isabella Caruso

Caleb Covey

Taryn Friedman

Emily Graham

Spencer Kahley

Skyler Tortorea

Morgan Tupper

Rachel Zelesnik

*Tied- Runoff election date to be determined

Previous articleRock softball suffers setback against Golden Knights
Next articleMusical Theater Society hosts virtual show
Joe is a senior communication major with concentrations in converged journalism and digital media production. This is his second year with The Rocket and first as the news editor. With a penchant for asking tough questions, his byline can be found on more than 100 articles for The Rocket including many breaking news and investigative pieces. During the hours he’s not wearing the hat of student journalist, he spends his time as a husband, father and dog owner in Slippery Rock.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here